Do Masks Alleviate Pressure for Street Photographers?

Derrick Story
3 min readJul 29, 2020
Girl with Mask on Scooter. Photo by Derrick Story.

Broadly speaking, I recognize that I have the right to make pictures of people in public places. It’s a privilege that I don’t abuse, but I will take advantage of when the moment is right.

People ask me, “Don’t you need a model release to publish that shot?” If the use is editorial or fine art, I do not. And in fact, more often than not, I wouldn’t need one for other usages either.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t think about it. I do. All of the time.

This is especially true when I want to photograph children. I am torn in half on this issue. As a dad, I understand the knee-jerk reaction to strangers sharpening their optical sights on my boys.

“What is he doing?” I ask myself. “I think I’ll go check with him.”

Any photographer worth his or her salt will be ready to respond confidently and honestly to an inquiring parent. If that’s the case, then carry on. (Oh, and please send along a few copies for me as well.)

As a street photographer, children are a huge part of the equation. If we can’t include their colorful energy in our storytelling, then we’re omitting some of the best parts. And so I proceed (with caution). They deserve to be seen as well.

--

--