Yes, Pro Photographers Use iPhones Too

Derrick Story
3 min readMay 19, 2022

The hall was at full capacity, and the audience hummed with anticipation. They were ready for the fashion show to begin. I was there as the hired photographer to capture it all.

My starting position was on the left side of the runway — what a great angle. I surveyed the room for where I might move next as I waited for the first model to appear. My 80–300mm lens had already found a composition that included the crowd, but provided a clean opening to photograph the entire length of the dress being debuted. I felt totally prepared for this assignment.

Then, without warning, the program director strode on to the stage directly off my shoulder and behind me, just a few feet away. She had a wireless mic in hand and appeared ready to make an announcement. I had absolutely the wrong lens on my camera to properly frame the shot, that is, unless all we needed were her eyebrows. Wasn’t this supposed to happen after the runway?

I pulled the iPhone 12 Pro Max from my front pocket, tapped the camera, and chose the ultra wide lens. I was able to record a half dozen frames before the director exited the stage, followed by music, and then the first model appeared at the end of the runway.

I put the iPhone back in my pocket, whirled to my right, and fired off a dozen frames with the zoom as she approached. What a…

--

--